!! OMG, new music for ’09: Dirty Projectors & David Byrne! !!

Next month, the Red Hot Organization, an international charity dedicated to raising funds and awareness for HIV and AIDS, will release Dark Was The Night, a 31-track, double CD compilation album to commemorate its 20th year of existence. The album, which was produced by The National, features all-new songs and special cover versions by an array of of-the-moment indie rockers, including Grizzly Bear, Feist and Ben Gibbard, Sufjan Stevens, Cat Power, Arcade Fire, The Decemberists and Bon Iver.
To hype the album, Red Hot has made “Knotty Pine” a collaboration between Brooklyn’s Dirty Projectors and multimedia music maven David Byrne, available as a free download. Listen to the song below and check out the full tracklisting after the jump. Dark Was The Night will be released on February 21.
Click to play:

Download “Knotty Pine” by Dirty Projectors (featuring David Byrne)

Complete Dark Was The Night tracklisting:
1. “Knotty Pine” – Dirty Projectors + David Byrne
2. “Cello Song” – The Books featuring Jose Gonzalez
3. “Train Song” – Feist and Ben Gibbard
4. “Brackett, WI” – Bon Iver
5. “Deep Blue Sea” – Grizzly Bear
6. “So Far Around The Bend” – The National
7. “Tightrope” – Yeasayer
8. “Feeling Good” – My Brightest Diamond
9. “Dark Was The Night” – Kronos Quartet
10. “I Was Young When I Left Home” – Antony with Bryce Dessner
11. “Big Red Machine” – Justin Vernon + Aaron Dessner
12. “Sleepless” – The Decemberists
13. “Stolen Houses (Die)” – Iron & Wine
14. “Service Bell” – Grizzly Bear + Feist
15. “You Are The Blood” – Sufjan Stevens
1. “Well-Alright” – Spoon
2. “Lenin” – Arcade Fire
3. “Mimizan” – Beirut
4. “El Caporal” – My Morning Jacket
5. “Inspiration Information” – Sharon Jones & the Dap-Kings
6. “With A Girl Like You” – Dave Sitek
7. “Blood Pt. 2” – Buck 65 Remix (featuring Sufjan Stevens and Serengeti)
8. “Hey, Snow White” – The New Pornographers
9. “Gentle Hour” – Yo La Tengo
10. “Amazing Grace” – Cat Power
11. “Happiness” – Riceboy Sleeps
12. “Another Saturday” – Stuart Murdoch
13. “The Giant Of Illinois” – Andrew Bird
14. “Lua” – Conor Oberst with Gillian Welch
15. “When The Road Runs Out” – Blonde Redhead & Devastations
16. “Love Vs. Porn” – Kevin Drew

» share:

3 Comments on "OMG, new music for ’09: Dirty Projectors & David Byrne!"

  1. its OMGBLOG not OMGBITCHYCOMMENTS, the above two are incredible lol! I didnt mind it, cheers.

  2. Wow Kyle, I didn’t realize you such a vapid shitty lady ga ga listening queen!
    This song and compilation is amazing.

  3. Wow, I didn’t think it could be possible for someone to have a worse taste in music than Perez H. Congrats to you!

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.